Suryakumar Yadav Takes the Helm for India in T20I Series Against Australia

Home » Cricket News » Suryakumar Yadav Takes the Helm for India in T20I Series Against Australia

In a significant development for Indian cricket, Suryakumar Yadav has been named the captain for the upcoming five-match T20I series against Australia.

This appointment comes in the wake of Hardik Pandya’s ankle injury, which has sidelined him from the series starting November 23.

Suryakumar’s elevation to captaincy marks a new chapter in his cricketing career and is a testament to his growing influence in the team.

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shreyas Iyer: The Vice-Captaincy Dynamics

Ruturaj Gaikwad will serve as the vice-captain for the first three games of the series. Shreyas Iyer, who will join the squad for the last two matches, will then take over the vice-captaincy role.

This rotational leadership approach reflects the team management’s strategy to build a pool of leaders within the squad.

The Squad Composition: A Blend of Experience and Youth


The Indian squad for the T20I series against Australia presents a mix of experienced campaigners and emerging talents.

Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, and Prasidh Krishna, who were part of the ODI World Cup squad, have been named for the entire series.

The return of Axar Patel, who missed the World Cup due to a quadriceps strain, adds strength to the team’s all-round capabilities.

Notable Exclusions and Emerging Talents

The selection panel has made some tough calls, leaving out Sanju Samson and Shahbaz Ahmed, who were part of the squad for the Ireland T20Is.

Additionally, promising talents like Riyan Parag and Abhishek Sharma, despite their impressive performances in domestic cricket, have not found a place in the squad.

The All-Rounders and Spin Options

Axar Patel’s return bolsters the team’s all-round options, alongside Washington Sundar.

Shivam Dube, known for his hard-hitting abilities, is also part of the squad, although his recent bowling contributions have been limited.

In the spin department, Ravi Bishnoi, the lone wristspinner, will be a crucial asset.

Suryakumar’s Leadership Record and the Coaching Staff

This series will be Suryakumar Yadav’s first stint as the captain of the Indian team. He has previously led Mumbai in domestic cricket and had a brief captaincy role with Mumbai Indians in the IPL.

The coaching staff, led by VVS Laxman, who recently guided the Indian men’s team to a gold medal at the Asian Games, will play a pivotal role in this series.

The Road Ahead: Venues and Schedule

The series kicks off in Visakhapatnam, followed by matches in Thiruvananthapuram, Guwahati, Raipur, and Bengaluru.

This series is crucial for India’s preparations for the T20 World Cup in the West Indies and the USA, which is about six months away.


The T20I series against Australia is a significant milestone for Suryakumar Yadav as he embarks on his captaincy journey.

With a balanced squad featuring a mix of experience and youth, India looks poised to take on the challenge posed by a formidable Australian side.

The series will not only test the team’s skills but also its strategic depth and adaptability under new leadership.

Scroll to Top