Astros’ Altuve, Keuchel, Receive Gold Glove Awards

Home » News » Astros’ Altuve, Keuchel, Receive Gold Glove Awards

Back in spring training, then-new Houston Astros’ manager A. J. Hinch asked second-baseman Jose Atluve what he planned to do for an encore after winning the American League Batting title in 2014.

The diminutive Altuve replied that he had never won a Gold Glove.  That feat was accomplished last night when Altuve and teammate pitcher Dallas Keuchel received the Gold Glove awards for their performances on the field in 2015.  Keuchel won the award in 2014 as well.

The awards were announced on a special edition of Baseball Tonight on ESPN2 Tuesday night.

This was the first time in 21 years the Astros had multiple Gold Glove winners in the same year, since Astro legends Craig Biggio and Jeff Bagwell won the awards in 1994.

Astros’ catcher Jason Castro fell short in his quest for the award, losing out to World-Champion Kansas City Royals catcher, Salvador Perez.

The Royals also placed first baseman Eric Hosmer and Shortstop Aicides Escobar on the Gold Glove American League winners list.

Baltimore Oriole Manny Machado at third base rounded out the infield, with Los Angeles Angels’ Kole Calhoun in right field, Tampa Bay Rays’ Kevin Kiemaier in center and despite being traded to the National League on July 31, Detroit Tigers’ Yoenis Cespedes won in left field.

St. Louis Cardinals’ catcher Yadier Molina won the award for the eighth consecutive time, leading the National League selections, with Los Angeles Dodger pitcher Zack Greinke as his battery mate.

The NL infield was composed of Paul Goldschmidt from the Arizona Diamondbacks at first, Miami Marlins’ Dee Gordon at second, San Francisco Giants’ Brandon Crawford at short and Colorado Rockies’ Nolan Arenado at third.

Filling the NL outfield was Cardinals’ Jason Heyward in right, Diamondbacks’ center fielder A.J Pollock and Pittsburgh Pirates’ Starlin Marte in left.

All 18 Gold Glove winners are qualified for the Platinum Glove awards, that will be determined by fan votes at and announced at a ceremony in New York on Friday night.

Daniel J. Brown

Daniel J. Brown (Editor-in-Chief) is a recently retired data analyst who gets a kick out of reading and writing the news. He enjoys good music, great food, and sports, with a slant towards Southern college football, basketball and professional baseball.

Scroll to Top